Snowpeak Gigapower

Info on gear, conditioning, and preparation for hiking/climbing. Gear Classifieds

Snowpeak Gigapower

Postby Alpine » Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:15 pm

Was just given one of these as a gift - thanks Andy! :-D

Looks like you can use more than one fuel blend - ie iso-butane, butane-propane, etc. Any suggestions on what brands or blends works best under various conditions?

A quick look at some reviews shows that wind might be an issue - any problem with just using the windscreen from my MSR?

Also, what about keeping the fuel warm - how necessary is that to get reasonable performance?

For comparison, I have been using an MSR Whisperlite for many years.

Any other 'good-to-know's?
"You know I've always loved you...and you know I always will." Third Day

Re: Snowpeak Gigapower

Postby spiderman » Tue Sep 11, 2012 4:30 pm

I haven't found too much difference between fuel blends although I have to admit that I rarely have used my canister stove at <10F where it would make a bigger difference. I usually am cooking in the vestibule of my tent so wind screens are not too important; alternatively I build a wind screen out of rocks. Do make sure that the vestibule zippers are opened enough to let in fresh air so you don't die from the carbon monoxide. Very, very important to watch out for too much carbon monoxide when camping in the snow and having to melt snow to drink. I saw a recommendation not to use too good of a windscreen because the canister could overheat if you trap too much of the heat from the stove.