Tyndall Glacier

Need a climbing partner? Trying to form a hiking group for an outing?
Forum rules
Please do not use this forum to advertise, sell photos or other products or promote a commercial website. For more details, please see the Terms of Use you agreed to when joining the forum.
soccern23ny
14ers: 9
13ers: 16

Tyndall Glacier

Post by soccern23ny »

Looking to climb Tyndall Glacier in the next week or so(on a weekend) and then head up Hallett and maybe Otis Peak. I have some steep snow experience with crampons and ice axe(Quandary's cristo couloir). Biggest worry is crevasses albeit I hear they are rare on these small glaciers. Looking for someone with the same or more experience would be great. Got to get some glacier time before they melt for good!
pvnisher
14ers: List not added
Trip Reports (8)

Re: Tyndall Glacier

Post by pvnisher »

Never done it, but if you do please post a trip report!
TheRealRooster
14ers: 6 2
13ers: 3 1

Post by TheRealRooster »

While I would not in any way, shape, or form discourage you from taking appropriate precaution with crevasses and taking an appropriate partner...

I wouldn't worry too much about cracks on Tyndall. Done it a few times, including skiing laps solo, etc. Cracks were small and tended to be quite obvious, mostly near the terminus. Be careful getting onto the snow and you should be fine with some good awareness. Don't underestimate the talus and boulder hopping past Emerald Lake to get to the glacier though, that took quite a bit longer than I expected the first go round!
soccern23ny
14ers: 9
13ers: 16

Post by soccern23ny »

pvnisher wrote: Mon Jun 21, 2021 6:18 am Never done it, but if you do please post a trip report!
https://imgur.com/a/hE3J0lX