Considering ATV purchase to make it to trailheads

Trailhead condition requests, questions, alerts, etc.
Forum rules
  • This is a mountaineering forum, so please keep your posts on-topic. Posts do not all have to be related to the 14ers but should at least be mountaineering-related.
  • Personal attacks and confrontational behavior will result in removal from the forum at the discretion of the administrators.
  • Do not use this forum to advertise, sell photos or other products or promote a commercial website.
  • Posts will be removed at the discretion of the site administrator or moderator(s), including: Troll posts, posts pushing political views or religious beliefs, and posts with the purpose of instigating conflict within the forum.
For more details, please see the Terms of Use you agreed to when joining the forum.
reginarose13
Trip Reports (0)

Considering ATV purchase to make it to trailheads

Post by reginarose13 »

I’m new to 14ers (done 3) and have noticed many have 4WD roads to the trailheads. I’m considering purchasing a used ATV for this purpose. Would it be worth it?
Eli Watson
14ers: 58  17 
13ers: 76
Trip Reports (2)

Re: Considering ATV purchase to make it to trailheads

Post by Eli Watson »

The 14ers can definitely be completed with 2WD from the lower THs, or even with no car. Higher access certainly makes life easier in some cases, but you can also just accept the extra miles. Either make sure your fitness is up to snuff for day trips or plan on packing in for a few overnights. Or bring a mountain bike ;)

Trailheads that I see people wanting 4WD the most for:
Antero
Castle & Conundrum
Grays/Torreys
Huerfano/Lily Lake (Lindsey)
Lake Como (Blanca Group)
Lead King Basin (Snowmass "S" Ridge or West Slopes - non standard)
Nellie Creek (Uncompahgre)
Princeton
South Colony Lakes (Crestone Group)
Yankee Boy Basin (Sneffels)