Why is Sunlight Peak a class 4?

Colorado peak questions, condition requests and other info.
Forum rules
  • This is a mountaineering forum, so please keep your posts on-topic. Posts do not all have to be related to the 14ers but should at least be mountaineering-related.
  • Personal attacks and confrontational behavior will result in removal from the forum at the discretion of the administrators.
  • Do not use this forum to advertise, sell photos or other products or promote a commercial website.
  • Posts will be removed at the discretion of the site administrator or moderator(s), including: Troll posts, posts pushing political views or religious beliefs, and posts with the purpose of instigating conflict within the forum.
    For more details, please see the Terms of Use you agreed to when joining the forum.
Maricopa Mountaineer
14ers: 58  8 
13ers: 7
Trip Reports (0)

Why is Sunlight Peak a class 4?

Post by Maricopa Mountaineer »

Im still very new at climbing 14ers but recently I climbed Sunlight Peak as my 2nd 14er and it left me wondering why its rated as a class 4? The only part I think that would warrant that rating is the leap of faith section, however the geo marker for the mountain is below the "true summit". Route finding wasn't too difficult, exposure wasn't bad at all until the leap, there were some sections where I had to scale some small rock walls but totally doable, however lots of loose rock! I felt more exposed on Longs peak (class 3) than I did on Sunlight.

Anyways Im still trying to learn the rating system and any thoughts on the matter would be appreciated!
JQDivide
14ers: 58  33 
13ers: 115 1
Trip Reports (58)

Re: Why is Sunlight Peak a class 4?

Post by JQDivide »

Ratings are based on the hardest move(s)... so a peak that is relatively easy, but has one hard moved will be designated by that one move.

Sunlight is C4 based on the summit block. Minimal hand/foot holds, exposure, death if you fall off, etc.
There is some C3 before that.