Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

RMNP moved the Longs Peak webcam

Colorado 14er peak questions and conditions should be posted here. 14er Trip Reports
User avatar
Posts: 278
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:05 pm
Location: Fort Collins, CO

RMNP moved the Longs Peak webcam

Postby dpage » Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:17 am

You can find the link for the cam towards the bottom of the page.I think I kind of like this view better.
http://www.nps.gov/romo/photosmultimedia/webcams.htm

User avatar
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:44 pm
Location: Fort Collins

Re: RMNP moved the Longs Peak webcam

Postby Dave B » Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:31 pm

Wow! What an improvement!

Thanks for the heads up!

Although I'm thinking their thermometer might need some calibrating. Or is is really that warm in Estes Today?

Image
"There is no cheating in climbing, only lying." - Semi-Rad

User avatar
Posts: 791
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2011 3:34 pm
Location: Thornton (CO Blvd & 136th Ave)

Re: RMNP moved the Longs Peak webcam

Postby SilverLynx » Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:42 pm

I'm in love. :iluvu:
"I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear."
~Nelson Mandela

"Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life. Don't be trapped by dogma - which is living with the results of other people's thinking. Don't let the noise of others' opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition."
~Steve Jobs

User avatar
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 5:31 pm

Re: RMNP moved the Longs Peak webcam

Postby ChrisRoberts » Sat Jan 05, 2013 9:20 am

Holy crap! Thats a huge improvement over the lame one they had
Some rise, some fall, some climb to get to terrapin
Read all about my schemes and adventuring at NoCo Chris Latest TR: Ramsay, Sugarloaf and Skull

Posts: 274
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:55 pm
Location: Massillon, Ohio

Re: RMNP moved the Longs Peak webcam

Postby bking14ers » Sat Jan 05, 2013 9:31 am

Love the new camera placement! I know jusy where they put it. Some land in the viewing area was for sale a few years ago. I would've gave my left nut for it. Every time I log onto the computer I always look at the Longs Peak, and Glacier Basin web-cams. Very seldom they don't work. Often snow coverd though. Yes the temp. is obviously very wrong on occasion. I've seen -50 below to +143deg. before.

Re: RMNP moved the Longs Peak webcam

Postby Bean » Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:02 am

Dave B wrote:Although I'm thinking their thermometer might need some calibrating. Or is is really that warm in Estes Today?

It is. Love the new view.
gdthomas wrote:Bean, you're an idiot.

http://throughpolarizedeyes.com

User avatar
Posts: 1312
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:44 pm
Location: Fort Collins

Re: RMNP moved the Longs Peak webcam

Postby Dave B » Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:22 am

Bean wrote:
Dave B wrote:Although I'm thinking their thermometer might need some calibrating. Or is is really that warm in Estes Today?

It is. Love the new view.


Interesting. The image I'd linked to read over 56 degrees yesterday when I posted that. I guess it must update automatically.
"There is no cheating in climbing, only lying." - Semi-Rad

User avatar
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 5:52 pm
Location: Wisconsin

Re: RMNP moved the Longs Peak webcam

Postby herdbull » Sat Jan 05, 2013 12:39 pm

Dave B wrote:
Bean wrote:
Dave B wrote:Although I'm thinking their thermometer might need some calibrating. Or is is really that warm in Estes Today?

It is. Love the new view.


Interesting. The image I'd linked to read over 56 degrees yesterday when I posted that. I guess it must update automatically.


by gosh it does appear to be updating automatically. Hmmmmm :-k wonder how a guy could make that his desktop background?

User avatar
Posts: 601
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 5:31 pm

Re: RMNP moved the Longs Peak webcam

Postby ChrisRoberts » Sat Jan 05, 2013 1:38 pm

herdbull wrote:
by gosh it does appear to be updating automatically. Hmmmmm :-k wonder how a guy could make that his desktop background?

Right click on the image, it should give you that option
Some rise, some fall, some climb to get to terrapin
Read all about my schemes and adventuring at NoCo Chris Latest TR: Ramsay, Sugarloaf and Skull

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Buckshot Jake and 11 guests