Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Maps API problem?

If you run into any problems using 14ers.com, please post a topic thread here.
Posts: 3864
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:56 pm

Maps API problem?

Postby tmathews » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:00 pm

Bill, I keep getting this popup on the 14ers routes pages. I'm not sure if it's my browser or something with the site, but I thought I'd let you know just in case. I'm using Firefox 10.0. I think it has something to do with the "Nearby Peaks" map, though. I can see it before the popup appears, but it disappears when I "OK" it. The map doesn't display at all in IE.

mapsapi.jpg
mapsapi.jpg (34.84 KiB) Viewed 288 times

User avatar
Posts: 2127
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 8:16 am
Location: Broomfield, Colorado

Re: Maps API problem?

Postby d_baker » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:01 pm

me too. I get it while viewing tr's though.
I thought it was something with my computer...maybe it is.

Online
User avatar
Posts: 280
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 7:24 pm
Location: San Jose

Re: Maps API problem?

Postby TheOtherIndian » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:09 pm

I can confirm I see it often on Chrome too. So I guess its more of an issue with Google Maps than browser
"There's only one thing I hate more than lying. Skim milk. Which is water that's lying about being milk" -Swanson, Ron

Site Administrator
User avatar
Posts: 6384
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 8:34 pm
Location: Breckenridge, CO

Re: Maps API problem?

Postby BillMiddlebrook » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:46 pm

Hmm, Google changed something and there must be a 14ers.com program that isn't using a key. I'll look into it.
"There's no recess and no rules in the school of life" - D. Mustaine

Site Administrator
User avatar
Posts: 6384
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 8:34 pm
Location: Breckenridge, CO

Re: Maps API problem?

Postby BillMiddlebrook » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:55 pm

Any chance you guys are sometimes using http://14ers.com instead of http://www.14ers.com?

I didn't have the first one specified in the Google API Console. Since Google added quotas, I've had to add API keys to the Gmap pages. More work!
"There's no recess and no rules in the school of life" - D. Mustaine

Posts: 3864
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:56 pm

Re: Maps API problem?

Postby tmathews » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:57 pm

BillMiddlebrook wrote:Any chance you guys are sometimes using http://14ers.com instead of http://www.14ers.com?

I didn't have the first one specified in the Google API Console. Since Google added quotas, I've had to add API keys to the Gmap pages. More work!


Yeah, I have 14ers.com bookmarked so that's just what I always use. I just checked a route map by using www.14ers.com and I don't get that popup. Weird!

Site Administrator
User avatar
Posts: 6384
Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 8:34 pm
Location: Breckenridge, CO

Re: Maps API problem?

Postby BillMiddlebrook » Thu Feb 02, 2012 2:59 pm

I don't think they were kicking back the error on each problem. Looks like they're "easing" in their quota+API key requirements.

I'll add the other referrer (14ers.com) to the list and hopefully that will solve the problem and make their system happy.
"There's no recess and no rules in the school of life" - D. Mustaine

Posts: 3864
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 9:56 pm

Re: Maps API problem?

Postby tmathews » Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:10 pm

BillMiddlebrook wrote:I don't think they were kicking back the error on each problem. Looks like they're "easing" in their quota+API key requirements.

I'll add the other referrer (14ers.com) to the list and hopefully that will solve the problem and make their system happy.


Gracias!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest