Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

what panoramic software do you have?

Info on gear, conditioning, and preparation for hiking/climbing. Gear Classifieds
User avatar
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:46 am
Location: In a state of Missouri ...

what panoramic software do you have?

Postby brian123 » Wed Dec 19, 2007 2:27 pm

Hello,

I need some names of good panoramic software. And how often do you really use it? Is it easy?
"Yes, I am serious. And don't call me Surley"

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 4903
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Woodland Park, Colorado

Re: what panoramic software do you have?

Postby CO Native » Wed Dec 19, 2007 2:38 pm

I use the software that came with my Canon. I use a setting on the camera that helps keep the photographs consistent then the software automatically uses info from the camera to sew the pictures together. It works quite well. (click the photo for a larger version)

Image
Remember what your knees are for.
http://www.hikingintherockies.com

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 4903
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Woodland Park, Colorado

Re: what panoramic software do you have?

Postby CO Native » Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:01 pm

Remember what your knees are for.
http://www.hikingintherockies.com

User avatar
Posts: 1913
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 12:55 pm

Re: what panoramic software do you have?

Postby Jon Frohlich » Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:12 pm

I think the one I have is Autopano Pro. Really flexible and you can do amazing things with it but it isn't free.

User avatar
Posts: 1913
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2005 12:55 pm

Re: what panoramic software do you have?

Postby Jon Frohlich » Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:36 pm

g wrote:Anything that uses Autostitch is teh awesome.


Yep, I have not once ever been able to find a seam with a pano made from Autopano Pro. It does a fantastic job. The pano that CO Native posted using the Canon software has obvious seams. I've never had great luck with that software actually getting it right.

Here is one I did.

Image

Big version:

http://www.quasirandom.net/zugspitze_pan_crop.jpg

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 4903
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Woodland Park, Colorado

Re: what panoramic software do you have?

Postby CO Native » Thu Dec 20, 2007 5:18 pm

OK, I redid my above panorama with the recommended autostitch program and got much better results. Really impressive for a free program.

Image
Remember what your knees are for.
http://www.hikingintherockies.com

User avatar
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: what panoramic software do you have?

Postby AT14er » Thu Dec 20, 2007 11:43 pm

I have not tried this but the QuickTime Virtual Reality panoramas look cool. It requires QuickTime Pro ($30).

Examples (drag your cursor across the image):
http://www.panoramas.dk/fullscreen2/full22.html
http://rockymountainscenery.com/qtvr.html


How To Page:
http://www.edb.utexas.edu/teachnet/qtvr/

User avatar
Posts: 1976
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: People's Republic of Boulder

Re: what panoramic software do you have?

Postby thebeave7 » Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:23 am

So I tried to use the Autostitch demo and for some reason it has issues loading the output file into Adobe Photoshop. The program simply freezes when trying to import images. I'm using Adobe 5.5 (older version), anyone have issues with adobe or know other programs that work. $150 for the Autopano Pro is kind of expensive, anyone use Serif?

Eric
Me fail English? That's unpossible. http://www.ericjlee.com/Blogs

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 4903
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Woodland Park, Colorado

Re: what panoramic software do you have?

Postby CO Native » Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:52 am

The demo has just been outputing a file named pano.jpg into whatever folder I'm working from. I can then just open that and edit it in other software. I've been having a lot of fun with this program. I've put together photos that were never really intended to result in panoramas and gotten great results. For example here is a compilation of some photos from the summit of Elbert (click for larger version):

Image
Remember what your knees are for.
http://www.hikingintherockies.com

User avatar
Posts: 1976
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:31 pm
Location: People's Republic of Boulder

Re: what panoramic software do you have?

Postby thebeave7 » Fri Dec 21, 2007 3:22 pm

Sweet, I didn't even realize it was automatically saving the photos. Stuff looks good coming out of even the free version.

Eric
Me fail English? That's unpossible. http://www.ericjlee.com/Blogs

User avatar
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:26 pm
Location: Castle Rock, CO

Re: what panoramic software do you have?

Postby Scanner » Fri Dec 21, 2007 7:26 pm

thebeave7 wrote:Sweet, I didn't even realize it was automatically saving the photos. Stuff looks good coming out of even the free version.


Yeah, I think the "pro" versions just allow you to do additional projections beyond the default "spherical" projection. But I've always been happy with the default.

About the only time I have any trouble with the free Autostitch is pictures with snow in the foreground. After I noticed that, I just remember to take panorama images without a lot of snow in the foreground or just crop those out. There's probably a way to tweak the blending so that it doesn't do that, but I've never played around with it enough to figure it out.

Moderator
User avatar
Posts: 4903
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 8:54 am
Location: Woodland Park, Colorado

Re: what panoramic software do you have?

Postby CO Native » Fri Dec 21, 2007 8:02 pm

I didn't have any problems with the photos above. The Wetterhorn-Uncompahgre one had a lot of snow in the foreground.
Remember what your knees are for.
http://www.hikingintherockies.com

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tomcat32 and 10 guests