Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Uncompahgre, Wetterhorn and Redcloud mid-may?

Need a climbing partner? Trying to form a hiking group for an outing?

Uncompahgre, Wetterhorn and Redcloud mid-may?

Postby Kendalla7 » Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:19 am

Hey everybody, so I'm wanting to climb these three, no particular order, first one either the 16th or 17th of May and very close to one another, possibly just one day after another. My birthday is the 17th, so i,for sure, wanted me on a summit that day. Please join me?? I am an austinite but my heart lies in the mountains. I am heading to CO for an internship and I need to be there the 22nd. I wanted to go a little early and make a few summits on my way. You could say I'm a little inexperienced. I have never used an ice axe or crampons before so I could really use someone else out there. I am most likely going to attempt the summits regardless if anyone else goes or not but it would be much less nerve racking for my family, daughter, etc. if there were someone else there who maybe knew a little more than me. Okay so, it's gonna be fun and exciting and just awesome really. So who's with me?? :D

Re: Uncompahgre, Wetterhorn and Redcloud mid-may?

Postby ChrisinAZ » Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:53 am

As you say, you're inexperienced, so I would STRONGLY RECOMMEND not attempting these peaks (particularly the first two) alone! I can't speak for conditions there, especially this far ahead, but I'd imagine Unc and Redcloud would be doable in terms of the actual hiking. I'm not familiar with the roads to the THs.

I'd potentially be interested in a trip up these, but I myself have had only limited experience with axe and crampons, so I wouldn't recommend having me along as your only partner. Where in Colorado will you be/arriving? That'll make a huge difference for most folks...