Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

What gear for early season snow?

Info on gear, conditioning, and preparation for hiking/climbing. Gear Classifieds

What gear for early season snow?

Postby bcitsthere » Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:19 am

What gear do you recommend for this fall time of year where it seems that the peaks are getting dusted with snow? I do not really know what the conditions are like this time of year (I'm new to CO). It seems from reading a few reports that the snow isn't hard enough for crampons and there isn't enough snow for snowshoes. But would you still recommend bringing one or the other just in case you get some weather or find a bad patch of snow? What about an ice axe? I've used all of the above gear and am familiar with it, but I have only used it in the middle of winter when it is quite clear what you need to bring.

Postby joe4186 » Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:22 am

gaiters
http://friendsofcaic.org/

Go Big or Go Home

"anything worth doing, its worth doing right"

Postby Scott P » Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:28 am

Gaiters, trekking poles, waterproof boots. Warm clothes of course.
I'm slow and fat. Unfortunately, those are my good qualities.

Postby CO Native » Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:32 am

yaktrax can be helpful too.

dark sunglasses for those snow covered slopes on sunny days.
Remember what your knees are for.
http://www.hikingintherockies.com

Postby Scott Rogers » Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:35 am

But don't use polarized lenses, those tend to let you see right through ice, and then you could have a slippery and painful day. But thank God the snow is here finally! I was going into withdrawals.
We can't change the world, but we can change the way we live.

Postby doumall » Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:47 am

For walkups (class 1 and 2 routes), the above posts are spot on. For climbing, you may need tools and/or crampons due to ice.

Postby Hunter » Mon Oct 01, 2007 7:14 pm