Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Eating and combating nausea on the trails

Info on gear, conditioning, and preparation for hiking/climbing. Gear Classifieds

Eating and combating nausea on the trails

Postby 14er_Crazy » Sat Sep 29, 2007 4:51 pm

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post!

I'd like some ideas on combating nausea and picking the right foods on 14ers. I've got 16 14ers (and many other CO mtns) under my belt, so I'm not a complete newbie to this. However lately, I've been getting nausea on the trail. The thought of eating anything after getting nausea makes me even more nauseous. Of course, not eating makes me lose energy, which in turn makes traveling slower. It's a vicious cycle.

What I've been packing is an apple (or 2), trailmix, and perhaps some beef jerky. Are there other types of foods that I will help settle my stomach? Does carbing up the night before help out? What about foods and drinks before starting off?

Are any others suffering through this? What have you done?

Thanks in advance!
Nausea at altitude, bad knees coming down, high winds, snow, gropple, the occasional thunderstorm and lightning... MAN, I love 14ers!

Postby skier25 » Sat Sep 29, 2007 5:06 pm

Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches. Surprisingly, I am happy to eat these while hiking, and they really taste good on a break. Hard boiled eggs with salt make a good breakfast. Use a cheap plastic container to store both so they don't get crushed.
Carry an ice axe and a clear mentality; they can both save your life.
I get acute mountain sickness when I am away from the mountains.

Postby Couloirman » Sat Sep 29, 2007 6:25 pm