Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Crampons, helmet & Ice axe...

Info on gear, conditioning, and preparation for hiking/climbing. Gear Classifieds

Crampons, helmet & Ice axe...

Postby jfox » Fri Jun 16, 2006 1:36 pm

O.K...so I want to get a little more technical, do some snow/ice (NOT vertical ice) and am looking for the above mentioned gear.

Any hints on buying would be much welcomed! i.e.-best brands, type crampons/axe (I know nothing about these). I don't want to spend a fortune but I don't want junk either.

Thanks!

Postby mildly neurotic » Fri Jun 16, 2006 2:15 pm

It's been 13 years since I bought my crampons and two ice axes, so my info may be a bit dated, but my gear has held up for that long so I know it's good stuff.

I would say that SMC and Charlet Moser (now owned by Petzl) make excellent axes, I've been using one of each for 13 years and they've become like familiy to me.

As for crampons the Charlet Moser models are excellent. I've been using the Super 12 model. However, since Charlet Moser got bought out by Petzl, it seems like the Vasak is similar to what the super 12's used to be. You can get any variety of boot attachment system you want (heel lever lock has worked fine for me so far). If you're into general mountaineering you want 12 points.

Postby alanb » Fri Jun 16, 2006 2:48 pm

I am by no means an expert on them but I have a black diamond Raven ice ax and Grivel airtech lights for my crampons. I have not had any problems with either.

Postby Jcwhite » Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:03 pm

just go look around the climbing section at rei...you will find what you need.

Postby Chicago Transplant » Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:59 pm

Petzl, Black Diamond and Grivel probably make the best stuff. I have a BD Raven axe and BD Contact Strap crampons with a Petzl Helios helmet.