Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Camera

Info on gear, conditioning, and preparation for hiking/climbing. Gear Classifieds

Camera

Postby metalliryan » Sun Nov 25, 2007 10:20 pm

I am thinking of purchasing the Pentax K10D and was wondering if anyone has this camera and could tell me what they think of it. From everything I read and reviews it looks to be the best SLR for the money. Any info would be great. 8)

Pretty Good

Postby Falcon3 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:58 pm

I don't know a ton about this camera, but it looks to be pretty solid. Hard to beat that price with image stabilization and 10.2 mp. However, I'd still take a hard look at the Nikon D40. Its a little cheaper, and you can use that money to buy another lens. Remember, a camera is only a light box. The quality of the picture comes from the lens attached to it.

Postby thebeave7 » Mon Nov 26, 2007 12:14 am

As with the above poster I'm no expert in photography, but I've been using a Nikon D40 for a little bit and have been very happy with it. From most of the people I talked to they said that the lenses matter as much if not more than the actual camera body. My understanding is that vibration reduction is only really needed for the stronger magnifications(it's very useful on my 200mm).
Any way you go, get out enjoy the outdoors and take lots of pictures.

Eric
Me fail English? That's unpossible. http://www.ericjlee.com/Blogs

Postby metalliryan » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:22 am

Yeah the Nikon D40 is no doubt a good camera. One of the things I liked about the K10D is that it has 72 seals in it. So you have that extra assurance that nothing will get inside the camera. I haven't had the chance to hold the K10D but the Nikon D40 was very nice.

RAW compatibility

Postby pouceo » Mon Nov 26, 2007 9:49 am

Last time I heard about Pentax, their RAW format wasn't supported by Mac, so if you have one watch out.