Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Looking for dog friendly 14er near Denver

Dogs, dogs and even some cats
Forum rules
Let's try to keep the topics related to mountaineering, please.

Looking for dog friendly 14er near Denver

Postby williamj76 » Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:33 am

Hi!

Im new to 14ers.com, and I was wondering if anybody had any ideas for a fun 14er route I could take my border collie on near Denver. I live in the roaring fork valley, and I've hiked all of the elks multiple times; however, I've never hiked anywhere but the elks so I dont know much about the mountains on the front range. Longs peak sounds interesting, but I've heard its not so doable with a dog. I'm looking for something fun--any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!

Re: Looking for dog friendly 14er near Denver

Postby JeffR » Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:40 am

Your best bet is to do a search. There are at least a dozen threads concerning dogs, including some very recent ones.
To recognize the beauty in sadness, without playing host to the pain...
- Under the Sun, "Reflections"

Postby LetsGoHigher » Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:57 am

I would definitely not do Longs. I would stick to Class 1 and 2.

The first thing to keep in mind is that many of the Denver adjacent 14ers are within wilderness area's that require your dog to be on a leash. This includes a relatively easy one, Mt. Bierstadt (my friend's 6-year-old walked up this). I've not been to Grays or Torreys, although they are not within a wilderness area (no leash required) and the route looks easy and stable, although you'll need a good high clearance vehicle to get to the TH.

If you are willing to drive a little farther, Quandary and Elbert are also good options and neither are in wilderness areas that require leashes.

Good luck and have fun!
Is that the summit?

Postby LuLuLuv » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:04 am