Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Access to Southeast Pikes Peak(The Crater)

Trailhead conditions, directions, roads, parking, camping, etc. Trailhead Info/Status

Access to Southeast Pikes Peak(The Crater)

Postby Peakjumper » Tue Mar 26, 2013 11:50 am

Hi everyone,
I'm new to Colorado Springs, but since I've been here every time I look at Pikes my eyes draw me to the Southeast side of the mountain. My question is what is the best/shortest approach to reach the cirque that holds the "Crater"? There looks to be a lot of rock and snow that is in that area and I want to go check it out. Wont have time to do so for a couple of more weeks but just seeing what info I can gather now. Any info is helpful as I'm new to this area. I have maps of the area but want some experience/knowledge from some people that have used the area.
Thanks ahead of time,
Joe Casedy

Re: Access to Southeast Pikes Peak(The Crater)

Postby Kevin Baker » Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:21 pm

I've never been in the Cirque yet, but I do want to explore the multiple couloir lines that exist above it. I got a good look at it doing the southeast ridge route. You could just contour south when you get above the A Frame a bit on Barr Trail and wrap into the Cirque at around 12100-12200' before the s.e. ridge starts getting steeper.
Always do what you are afraid to do. -Ralph Waldo Emerson

Postby jsdratm » Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:23 pm

If I remember correctly, there is an official trail on the Trails Illustrated map that heads south to that area from the Barr Trail. I have never done it myself though.

Postby EatinHardtack » Tue Mar 26, 2013 1:01 pm