Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Camping Heaters at Altitude

Trailhead conditions, directions, roads, parking, camping, etc. Trailhead Info/Status

Camping Heaters at Altitude

Postby Rangerat1 » Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:04 am

OK so I am fairly new to high altitude hiking, camping and such as I am originally from Michigan.

My wife and I are going to Grays and going to camp at the trail head and then hike up the next day. I am concerned about keeping warm and comfy through the night. I have read lots of things that the propane heaters either do not work or are unsafe at that altitude, trail head is 11,000. Have heard anything beyond 8000 is really not safe with them due to them getting confused and shutting off due to the low oxygen as well as them eating what little there is and you maybe dieing due to Carbon monoxide poisoning.

What can anyone tell me about this?

Any suggestions?
C. Thomas Eisele
Colorado Springs

Re: Camping Heaters at Altitude

Postby rijaca » Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:06 am

Get a good sleeping bag and pad.
"Spent a little time on the mountain
Spent a little time on the hill"

Postby Scott P » Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:11 am

Get a good sleeping bag and pad.

+1
I'm slow and fat. Unfortunately, those are my good qualities.

Postby Theodore » Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:12 am

and another +1. Seems like a complicated answer to a simple question.

Postby steelfrog » Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:12 am

Take these things:

Sleeping bag (preferably down, about a 20 degree bag); sleeping pad

A long sleeve base layer--upper body. Capilene long johns for lower. Wool sleeping socks. knit gloves and hat. A micropuff down shell

This will prepare you for just about any conditions.

Postby djkest » Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:14 am