Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Skiing this coming weekend? Partners?

Info, conditions and gear related to skiing or riding Colorado Peaks, including the 14ers! Ski/Ride Trip Reports

Skiing this coming weekend? Partners?

Postby saxybrian » Mon May 23, 2011 9:10 pm

Anyone here want to do some AT skiing? I'm pretty new to skiing in general so basically anything of a blue grade I could do (I could probably hit a light black after a few hours of skiing). I'm really wanting to get some learning in with someone who doesn't mind going out and helping a new person in the area.

I'd be coming from TX so let me know soon by emailing me at brianwthomas @ gmail (.) com

I went to Quandary in April but got socked in by 100+mph wind and nasty avy conditions. (I'm in good shape so skinning up wasn't to much of an issue last time I went)

Re: Skiing this coming weekend? Partners?

Postby SummitAP » Mon May 23, 2011 9:37 pm

This will end well...

Postby weissea » Mon May 23, 2011 11:15 pm

How new to skiing in general are you? I know you are looking for partners but consider this advice.

Maybe hit up one of the closed resorts if you are looking for practice, rather than jump right into the backcountry. Almost every one of them still has snow from top to bottom. You can use their trail ratings to measure you expectations against reality (however, it is hard to then translate resort ratings to backcountry difficulty). Avy danger will be low. Access will be a breeze. Surface snow will be comparable to the backcountry because they haven't been grooming for weeks (of course, the snowpack under the surface will be totally different).

After that you could go to Berthoud Pass (abandoned ski area) and skin up/ski down old blue/green runs that haven't been touched by machines in many years.

Then get into the easier backcountry stuff and give Quandary another shot...