Forum

Weather question

Colorado 14er peak questions, condition requests and other info. 14er Trip Reports, Condition Reports

Weather question

Postby Vermont Mike » Thu May 21, 2009 12:30 pm

Since I'm new to Colorado I just had a quick question on summer weather. If the forecast is for scattered/isolated thunderstorms does that generally mean in the afternoon, or is it anyone's guess?? I know I could check an hour by hour forecast but it would be nice to know a few days in advance. I guess what I'm asking is, is it worth risking a 14er hike when the forecast is for scatter/isolated t-storms (since I'd have to drive 2+ hours to trailhead) . . . . obviously I'd need a very early start. Apologies if this has already been discussed :D

Re: Weather question

Postby tmathews » Thu May 21, 2009 12:37 pm

Vermont Mike wrote:Since I'm new to Colorado I just had a quick question on summer weather. If the forecast is for scattered/isolated thunderstorms does that generally mean in the afternoon, or is it anyone's guess?? I know I could check an hour by hour forecast but it would be nice to know a few days in advance. I guess what I'm asking is, is it worth risking a 14er hike when the forecast is for scatter/isolated t-storms (since I'd have to drive 2+ hours to trailhead) . . . . obviously I'd need a very early start. Apologies if this has already been discussed :D

Generally, yes. Clouds need convection built-up from the heating of the ground for them to get enough vertical development to form a thunderstorm, but it also depends on how much moisture is in the air. You can also try looking at the dewpoint forecast. The higher the dewpoint, the more moisture there is in the air and if the dewpoint is high in the summer, there's also a good chance for storms. I generally try to be off of any area above treeline before 11:00 - 12:00, if possible.
Last edited by tmathews on Thu May 21, 2009 2:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby headeulogy » Thu May 21, 2009 12:39 pm