Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

When do you use what gear?

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.

When do you use what gear?

Postby RockFarmer » Thu May 17, 2007 10:49 pm

This could have gone in the gear forum, but since I am a newbie, and it is a newbie question, I’ll put it here. I apologize in advanced for the length of this “question” and its apparent rambling. Anyone wishing to attest to their bravery may attempt to answer these questions.

This past winter has only been my second winter in Colorado. I have shied away from the mountains if I could see more than a few spots of snow near the summits. I have stayed away from spring or fall hiking because I have no knowledge of how the snow acts up in the mountains. I don’t have much knowledge as to what gear to use, when to use it, and how to use it (other than winter clothing). I have searched the forums and have found bits and pieces of the info I was looking for but I didn’t find enough to answer my question(s).

The question I put forth focuses on ice axes, crampons, and snow shoes. What do you use when, and why do you use them. Especially in these months when you’re not sure where or when you’re going to encounter snow. My ultimate goal is to understand which of the above three I should use and the reasoning behind the use. Basically are there any “rules of thumbs” I can easily remember and follow.

*Crampons: What conditions require the use of crampons. Is it based on the amount of ice in the snow? What’s under the snow? If your climbing a slope that is greater than a certain amount of degrees? Do you use this primarily in the spring when the snow is old? Etc?

*Snow shoes: The conditions requiring snow shoes are fairly obvious, but when do you not need to use snow shoes? If the snow has been melting? If it is hard and crusty, rather than simply powder? Etc?