Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

New to 14ers Looking for Climbing buddy

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.

New to 14ers Looking for Climbing buddy

Postby skateslabel » Sat May 05, 2007 9:55 pm

I am new to Colorado and have taking up hiking and I have decided that I want to start doing a few 14ers. I know they are dangerous and all so I was hoping to find someone to help me get started and show me the ropes of doing 14ers and the such. If you are interested, please email me. Thanks.
Charles

Postby thebeave7 » Sat May 05, 2007 10:34 pm

A lot of the 14ers aren't dangerous, you just have to pick your mountains. A handful are class 1(trail to the top) many more are class 2(some rock hopping, but not really dangerous). Even if you don't find a partner, just start with the easier mountains. Beta on routes can be found here or in many guidebooks.
Eric

Postby skateslabel » Sun May 06, 2007 12:28 am

Which would be a good 14er to start off on that is some what close to Boulder? I was thinking Long's Peak, but I was reading one story about crampons and the sort, which I don't have(yet). Any information would be helpful.

Postby jimlup » Sun May 06, 2007 6:50 am

skateslabel wrote:Which would be a good 14er to start off on that is some what close to Boulder? I was thinking Long's Peak, but I was reading one story about crampons and the sort, which I don't have(yet). Any information would be helpful.

Hey Skateslabel! Welcome to 14ers.com. You will find an amazing amount of useful information here. I successful summited my first 14er last summer from the information here.