Forum
Your purchase of a synthetic or cotton shirt helps support 14ers.com. Thank you!

Other ways to help...

Questions about a day trip to Sunshine Peak

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.

Questions about a day trip to Sunshine Peak

Postby Sdavis15 » Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:57 pm

This being my first post on the forum, I feel as though I should provide a bit of background information so that these questions can be accurately answered.

I'm a college student from Oklahoma, and have little experience climbing 14ers. However, I have climbed two (San Luis and Handies) and I've spent a lot of time in Colorado. That being said, altitude has never really been a problem for me before in terms of side effects. Earlier this summer, I took a trip to Lake City with some friends from High school to climb Handies and I got hooked on climbing. I'm in need of a break from the flat lands and I'm way too impatient to wait until next July to climb another one. Which brings me to my questions.

A friend and I are currently slated to depart from Oklahoma at 3 PM on Friday, which would put us in Lake City about 4 AM on Saturday morning. We would then rest until about 9 AM and begin our accent up Sunshine Peak. We plan to head back to Oklahoma at about 6 PM on Saturday night.

Aside from being completely irresponsible with our time, is there any reason that we should not attempt this journey? Has anyone on the forum attempted a feat like this before?
I appreciate all responses.
Thanks-
Spenser

Re: Questions about a day trip to Sunshine Peak

Postby Stevo » Mon Sep 09, 2013 9:06 pm

Spenser,