Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Training for 14ers

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.

Training for 14ers

Postby kaitimae » Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:37 pm

I have a question for some of you more experienced hikers...

I'm still relatively new to hiking, and only have 2 14er summits to my name (Grays and Democrat). I love love love hiking. But I am having a hard time reaching even the easier summits. (Quandry, Bierstadt twice, and wasn't able to get any adjoining peaks on the ones I did summit.)

I do need to lose some weight, and I'm positive that will help a lot. (And by some, I mean probably close to a hundred pounds.) I've been working hard on changing my diet and making exercise a regular part of my life.

In the meantime though - is there anything I can do to make getting up mountains easier? Would it be helpful for me to hike more feet at a lower elevation, or would I be better off just trying to get as much high elevation hiking as possible in?

My main problem is that I have a harder time catching my breath that high up. My legs are very strong, thanks to 3x/week spin classes! And if I had all day, I would summit more. I'm quite persistent. :-D But when bad weather is rolling in or my hiking partners have summitted and are ready to go home, I don't have much choice.

Thanks for any ideas you all may have. No matter what I won't let this stop me from trying... hiking anywhere, even without a summit, is still a thrill. =)
Have faith in the long haul, have fun in the short term. ~wildlobo71

Re: Training for 14ers

Postby Dancesatmoonrise » Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:44 pm

When they asked Eddy Merckx how he won so many bike races, his reply in broken English was simply,

"Ride lots."

Hang in there, do something daily for aerobic exercise, you'll get there. :wink:

Postby Upstate Hiker » Tue Sep 25, 2012 6:57 pm