Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Intro to class 3

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.

Intro to class 3

Postby joshbrink » Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:05 am

I am coming out in september and want to get some experience on class 3. I was thinking about the sawtooth traverse between beirstadt and evans. Is this a good place to start or is there a better intro to class 3 climbing? I am fairly new to Colorado climbing with just Democrat and Buffalo Mt but have done climbing and lots of hiking in other places and I am looking to advance my skills. Thanks for any advice.
“I am losing precious days. I am degenerating into a machine for making money. I am learning nothing in this trivial world of men. I must break away and get out into the mountains to learn the news”
― John Muir

Re: Intro to class 3

Postby Tory Wells » Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:34 am

Kelso Ridge on Torreys is a great beginner class 3 due to the ease of route finding, as is Long's Keyhole.
"Tongue-tied and twisted, just an earthbound misfit, am I." -David Gilmour, Pink Floyd

"We knocked the bastard off." Hillary, 1953
"It is not the mountain we conquer but ourselves." Hillary, 2003
Couldn't we all use 50 years of humble growth?
-Steve Gladbach

Postby Brian C » Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:36 am

There are a ton of threads out there on this. Try searching the forum. I found these these three in about 30 seconds.

First Class 3

Good class 3 to start on

Advice for 1st class 3
Brian in the Wild
Lists of John
"Nature never did betray the heart that loved her." - Wordsworth

Postby Tornadoman » Wed Feb 01, 2012 7:04 am

Wetterhorn is a good choice, although it's a lot further away from Denver (if that matters to you).

Postby joshbrink » Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:22 am

is the sawtooth an ok place to start or would I be better of with one of the above mentioned? Thanks