Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Newbie here. I want to climb them all!

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.

Re: Newbie here. I want to climb them all!

Postby centrifuge » Mon Oct 10, 2011 6:44 pm

Welcome to the insanity! :) The best place to start is probably here, so great first step. In addition to the incredible site Mr. Middlebrook has provided us with here, there are a lot of people with a ton of info about the peaks.
"i feel so extraordinary, somethings got a hold on me, I get this feeling I'm in motion, a sudden sence of liberty“ new order

Postby gonzalj » Mon Oct 10, 2011 7:22 pm

Welcome to the site and the addiction of the journey to stand atop all of them eventually. First word of advice I can give is start easier and work your way up, but I think getting a good variety of different difficulties over the course of a season is a good practice to get yourself prepared.

Postby chrismjx » Mon Oct 10, 2011 7:35 pm

I just started in May, and I've done 4, which seemed to work out really well for me. I started with Mt. Bierstadt, then did Mts. Lincoln, Cameron (not really a 14er technically but I think a lot of people still count it :) and Bross (which is closed, so don't tell anybody!). We would have done Democrat too, but got chased off the mountain by a storm. Have fun!

Postby Monster5 » Mon Oct 10, 2011 7:38 pm

Wait hold on... Weren't we going to start somebody off climbing them in order of elevation? She said she's in shape. She has to start with Elbert - we aren't allowing her the choice!
"The road to alpine climbing is pocked and poorly marked, ending at an unexpectedly closed gate 5 miles from the trailhead." - MP user Beckerich

Postby Tommy Dorr » Mon Oct 10, 2011 7:51 pm

Haha, nice. Start looking at the cenntenials now, always obey the 3000ft rule, always take a "classic" route and send money to 14ers.com