Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

mountaineering classes that don't meet on weekdays?

FAQ and threads for those just starting to hike the Colorado 14ers.

mountaineering classes that don't meet on weekdays?

Postby scramble » Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:22 pm

howdy!
snow is a-coming, i've been in colorado for 6 weeks, and i don't wanna stop... the mountain party is just getting started!! plus i love hiking up, hate hiking down and love skiing so i may want to go that route if i ever get the required skillz. the only thing is that i am a hosed graduate student and really ought not leave the lab/books until ~8 pm at the earliest. i could probably steal away early for a couple nights and do an avalanche class.

but i would like to take a million classes like on crampons, self-arrest... at night i have big dreams of glacier travel on very high mountains hehe! most of what i could find on google and on the forum had weekday lecture components. (which i'd be sooo down for if i worked 9-5, urgh!)

any suggestions for a mountaineering education that can stick to the weekends? another thing i was looking at was maybe just taking an avalanche course this fall, then taking an intensive course in the cascades for my summer vacation. can one learn effective self-arrest by watching a lot of youtube vids and then finding a safe slope to practice on? and if so, any suggestions? : ) oh and for all of the above, i'm really looking to minimize cost.

happy to hear all of your advice and opinions.

thanks a bunch,
-sara

Re: mountaineering classes that don't meet on weekdays?

Postby jpfeif001 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:15 am