Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Lhakpa Ri/Everest North Col

Discussion area for peaks outside of the USA.

Lhakpa Ri/Everest North Col

Postby JB99 » Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:42 pm

I am looking into the next big climb I'd like to try and have a few that I am considering, money is a consideration as I am a relatively poor college student and I'm thinking anything over $6k is out of reach. I was looking into Aconcagua or something in the Andes and realized the cost might be somewhat comprable to some Himalayan Treks. The two that interested me most were Lhakpa Ri or an Everest North Col climb. Anyone have any experience with either of these or helpful info about this area? Thanks.
"You may say I'm a dreamer, but I'm not."

Re: Lhakpa Ri/Everest North Col

Postby andinismo_de_co » Wed Apr 01, 2009 5:21 pm

i have no experience in the east, but lived in chile last year, argentina is cheaper than chile, and you could easily set up a quality aconcagua expedition for less than $6k... air travel would be expensive but everything else can be arranged for very little money provided you don't need a guide or much new equipment. if you need a guide or full equipment load it might cost alot more, unsure... anyways, moral of the story is that the Andes are badass, and you should check them out!

Postby JB99 » Wed Apr 01, 2009 5:36 pm

Thanks, I'll tally one vote for the "save your money and climb in the Andes which are bad ass" category. I don't need much in the way of gear at this point for either trip. Double plastic boots and a heavier sleeping bag are the only major items I can think of. From the very limited research I have done on Aconcagua it looks like I could keep the costs around $3k including my flight with support but unguided. If I can't talk the lady into joining me and can't find another partner then I would probably get a guide though.

Postby cheeseburglar » Wed Apr 01, 2009 7:37 pm