Forum
Buying gear? Please use these links to help 14ers.com:

More info...

Other ways to help...

Chomolungma

Discussion area for peaks outside of the USA.

Chomolungma

Postby Gabriel » Mon Feb 09, 2009 6:12 pm

I'm working on the seven summits. I have left, Asia, Antarctica, Australia and Africa. I have been trying ot avoid Asia, but realize that at 45 my time is now. I can do the others after I retire. My problem is the pre an post monsoon seasons don't work with my schedule as a teacher. Does anyone have information on the mid monsoon weather window that allowed Messner to complete his epic solo, maskless climb in 1980?

G

Re: Chomolungma

Postby Shawnee Bob » Mon Feb 09, 2009 9:08 pm

Advice: Sabbatical. There's your window.
Because life's too short to be an indoor cat.

http://proactiveoutside.wordpress.com/

Postby jmforsythe72 » Tue Feb 10, 2009 8:03 am

I am a teacher as well and struggle with the same dilemma. If you have enough days saved, you can make it. I have about 30+ days saved, and with permission from front office, can make it work. The only problem I have is financing the trip. If you offer some sort of deal where you give updates each day (climate/geology/history/etc.), they are more likely to see things your way. I was able to gain confirmation, but could not afford the trip.

Postby curtiswm » Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:09 am

According to his book " The Crystal Horizon ", Messner used modern meterology methods, scientific work on Himilayan monsoons by Helmut Kraus, information from the local Tibetans, and his own observations to determine his "window" of opportunity. He summited on August 20, 1980.
" Great are the works of the Lord... He has made His wonders to be remembered... "

Postby skiwall » Wed Feb 11, 2009 9:31 am