Meeker Loft route finding question

Colorado peak questions, condition requests and other info.
Forum rules
  • This is a mountaineering forum, so please keep your posts on-topic. Posts do not all have to be related to the 14ers but should at least be mountaineering-related.
  • Personal attacks and confrontational behavior will result in removal from the forum at the discretion of the administrators.
  • Do not use this forum to advertise, sell photos or other products or promote a commercial website.
  • Posts will be removed at the discretion of the site administrator or moderator(s), including: Troll posts, posts pushing political views or religious beliefs, and posts with the purpose of instigating conflict within the forum.
    For more details, please see the Terms of Use you agreed to when joining the forum.
Rick Canter
14ers: 31 
13ers: 6
Trip Reports (13)

Meeker Loft route finding question

Post by Rick Canter »

Hi folks,

I am studying the routes on Meeker currently, such a complex mountain!

Here's my question: Suppose I reach the summit without taking the Loft route and I want to descend via the Loft, down past Ships Prow and Chasm Lake to the Longs Peak Trail. I need to find that narrow weakness in the cliffs as I start down the NW side of Meeker. Is this route cairned or marked at all? How do I guarantee that I find this narrow outlet?

My biggest fear is that I do not find this easily, with weather coming in.

Thanks, Rick
andrewhamilton
14ers: 58  2  58 
13ers: 95
Trip Reports (3)

Re: Meeker Loft route finding question

Post by andrewhamilton »

Hi Rick, there is definitely a cairned path that will lead you down through the loft route. It can be easy to miss. Last year in April I was with a couple of friends and we were descending the Loft route just as darkness was coming in and were too far to the North and we ended up doing a nasty little icy cliff descent that was directly above the Loft route.