Double Boots & Crampons

Info on gear, conditioning, and preparation for hiking/climbing.
mts4602
14er Checklist (13)
13er Checklist (1)

Double Boots & Crampons

Postby mts4602 » Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:13 pm

I'm looking for recommendations for a double plastic boot & step-in crampon.

Next year I'm hoping to attempt Rainier, but also want these for future higher climbs and this is my first time purchasing this stuff. There is so much out there I don't know what to choose. I will say though that even though I believe double plastic boots are needed for longer expedition climbs there seems to be many more leather boots out there than plastics and also with regard to crampons I see a lot more hybrid/strap on kinds than step-in. All of the crampon systems are a little confusing to me...Grivel for example has "classic, New Matic, and Cramp-O-Matic". Need some help!

Thanks,

Matt
Matt
I Man
14er Checklist (58)
14ers in Winter (49)
13er Checklist (73)

Re: Double Boots & Crampons

Postby I Man » Thu Sep 20, 2012 12:16 pm

This is highly subjective, so take everyone's opinion into account.

Personally - in Colorado I use single layer insulated boots (Sportiva Nepals) - even on multi day trips. I have never had an issue with this.

On Rainier, I spent 6 days and got into some pretty bad weather...I was fine in the Nepals, and one of my other partners who "runs cold" also had a single layer boot. Our 3rd Partner did use LS Spantiks though.

I am also curious as to recommendations for double plastics though....

Crampons are another story...and it drives me nuts. It depends a lot on what you intend to do with them. I have the BD Sabretooth now with a heel AND toe clip, but I've got into some pretty hairy situations with the toe clip coming off (and I hear others have this problem as well). I am going to try out the Grivel G12 this year - possibly with a strap in the front.
You can touch the void, just don't fall into it.