Couloir Season

Colorado peak questions, condition requests and other info.
Forum rules
  • This is a mountaineering forum, so please keep your posts on-topic. Posts do not all have to be related to the 14ers but should at least be mountaineering-related.
  • Personal attacks and confrontational behavior will result in removal from the forum at the discretion of the administrators.
  • Do not use this forum to advertise, sell photos or other products or promote a commercial website.
  • Posts will be removed at the discretion of the site administrator or moderator(s), including: Troll posts, posts pushing political views or religious beliefs, and posts with the purpose of instigating conflict within the forum.
    For more details, please see the Terms of Use you agreed to when joining the forum.
Flyingfish
14ers: 58  3 
13ers: 533 2 16
Trip Reports (1)

Couloir Season

Post by Flyingfish »

So I am fairly new to snow climbing but not winter hiking so I was wondering generally when snow conditions are right to start climbing couloirs. Mainly I want to know how late into the spring and summer they are still good to climb?
justiner
14ers: 58  8 
13ers: 138
Trip Reports (40)

Re: Couloir Season

Post by justiner »

Spring to mid summer for Colorado. Winter ascents are possible but usually you have to be careful to nail conditions perfectly. Unconsolidated winter snow in the couloir and/or avy terrain on the approach makes for a bad day. I've done many routes in the beginning of July. Gotta start early to avoid wet slides; it's good to note the weather and cloud coverage the night before to guess how things will firm up.
jaymz
Trip Reports (1)

Post by jaymz »